A Record Season Ending for Amateur Boxing

Press Release

April 23, 2007

St. Catharines, Ontario – Boxers gathered this weekend in St.Catharines in the last tournament of the 2006/2007 Champion Series. This year the Ray McGibbon Tournament reached a record number of entries. Over 35 clubs and more than 100 athletes from all over Ontario took part. At the end of the 3-day event, awards were handed out to individuals whom exemplified a great showing.

The Ray McGibbon tournament also featured the 2007 Annual Boxing Ontario Awards over the 3 day event. The awards honored those whom made great contributions to the sport of amateur boxing in Ontario and demonstrated athletic excellence.

The Ray McGibbon Awards:

Best Male Cadet: Kane Heron – HUF

Best Female Cadet: Brittany Borja – Tillers

Best Junior Female: Melinda Watpool- Tillers

Best Junior Male: Mike Roy: Leamington

Best Senior Male: Kwabena Koenya-doe – Sully’s

Best Senior Female: Amber Konikow – Top Glove

Best Male Bout: Brandon Caroll(McGrory’s) vs. Sherhei Serieux (Tillers)

Best Female Bout: Crystal Hughes (Waterloo) vs. Linda Scourtodis (Beaver)

Best Boxer: David Palacios – Whip

Best Team: Tillers Boxing Club


Boxing Ontario Awards Winners


Male Athlete of the Year: Ibrahim Kamal

Female Athlete of the Year: Katie Dunn

Coach of the Year: Joe Sandulo

Official of the Year: Sonny Wong

Volunteer of the Year: Val Ryan

Individual Club Awards

Most Competitive Members: Motor City

Most Non Competitive Members: Valley East

Club Athlete Development: Bigtyme & McGrory’s

Legends Inductees

Builder: Dr. Ken Taylor

Boxer: Johnny Kalbhenn

Official: John Wylie

Coach: Vinnie Ryan



Male Athlete of the Year: Isho Shiba

Female Athlete of the Year: Mandy Bujold

Coach of the Year: Vinnie Ryan

Official of the Year: Ajaz Khan

Volunteer of the Year: Deb Laba

Individual Club Awards

Most Competitive Members: Motor City

Most Non Competitive Members: Waterloo

Club Athlete Development Award: Bigtyme

Legends Inductee

Builder: Joseph Hajnal

Boxer: Margaret Canty

Official: Eileen Bender

Coach: Preston Roberts

Contact Us

Send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from Boxing Ontario.

You have Successfully Subscribed!