

Media Contact Boxing Ontario Office +1 (416) 426-7250 pr@boxingontario.com

## **PRESS RELEASE: Boxing Ontario Conducts Election for Board of Directors**

**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | TORONTO (October 22, 2021)** The Boxing Ontario Board of Directors is pleased to announce the appointment of Jay Corcoran and Jennifer Ogg as our Directors at Large, effective October 22, 2021. Both Corcoran and Ogg's organizational experience, sport knowledge, and diverse skill sets will be crucial over this next year to lead the anticipated workload that comes on the heels of our 2020-2024 Strategic Plan and preparation for the shortened Paris 2024 Olympic Cycle. The announcement comes as past Directors, Lee Smith and Fred Ten Eyck step down after dedicating their past two years to the success of the organization.

We are grateful to Lee and Fred for their vision, diligence, and leadership. They have both grown the Business of Boxing exponentially over the years, and we look forward to their continued support on various committees. While we will miss Lee and Fred's direction and expertise, we are pleased with the quality of candidates who emerged in our nominations process for new Directors. Both Jay and Jennifer's experience, passion, and skills distinguish them in the field as a strong fit to help us start our strategic cycle with focus and strong direction.

## **About Boxing Ontario:**

Boxing Ontario is the only governing body for Olympic-Style Boxing in Ontario. As such, it is affiliated with Boxing Canada (CABA), the International Boxing Association (AIBA) and the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture, & Sport. Founded in 1972, Boxing Ontario encompasses over 100 clubs, 2,500 competitors, and more than 12,000 recreational members.

In the Boxing Ontario governance structure, the business of Boxing Ontario is conducted by a Board of Directors, composed of five elected individuals.

- 30 -

## **Interview Opportunities:**

pr@boxingontario.com | +1 (416) 426-7250

Interview Opportunities available in person, virtual, and via phone or email with:

- <u>Jennifer Huggins</u> (President)
- Erik Espinola (New Executive Director)
- Board Members (contacts available upon request)