The Canadian team arrived in Baku, Azerbaijan. The objective for Canadian boxers competing at the World Championships, from September 26 to October 8, is to win their ticket to the London Olympics in 2012. The selection is represented by five Canadian boxers in competition with 127 countries and recorded 685 registered boxers.

The Canadian Team:

52kg – Kenny Lally (British Columbia)
60kg – Alex Rynn (Alberta)
64kg – Yves Ulysse Jr (Quebec)
69kg – Custio Clayton (Halifax)
91kg – Samir El Mais (Ontario)

The Boxing Team is supported by Adrian Teodorescu, Sylvain Gagnon and Daniel Trepanier.

Schedule & Results

91kg – Samir El Mais(ONT) WIN over Yamil Peralta (ARG)15:7

91kg – Samir El Mais(ONT) LOSS to Simon Nembhard (ENG) W/O

52kg – Kenny Lally(BC) LOSS to Rey Saludar (PHI) 21:22

69kg – Custio Clayton(HL) LOSS to Kitson Julie (SEY) 21:4

64kg – Yves Ulysse(QUE) WIN over Ljubomir Marjanovic (SRB) 20:14

64kg – Yves Ulysse(QUE) LOSS to Gyula Kate(HUN) 17:27

60kg – Alex Rynn(ALB)WIN over Ahmed Mejri(TUN) 19:13

60kg – Alex Rynn(ALB) LOSS to Branimir Stankovic(SRB) 11:18
Meantime,  you can follow all bouts through the AIBA live scoring system on

From the Round of 16 and until the Finals, all matches will be live on and on Youtube at


Boxers in eight of the weight categories from light-flyweight to light-heavyweight (49Kg to 81Kg) will qualify for the London Olympics if they reach the quarter-finals.

Two of the losing boxers from the last 16 in these eight weight categories will also secure Olympic qualification provided that they were beaten by the eventual finalists.

Boxers competing in the heavyweight and super-heavyweight categories must reach the semi-finals (which will secure at least bronze) to guarantee qualification for the London Olympics .

Likewise, two of the losing quarter-finalists in these weight categories will also qualify for London provided that they were beaten by the eventual finalists
The journey to the 2012 Olympics is not over for these men. The next chance: American Olympic Qulifying Tournament, May 13-21, Brazil.