New weight categories for men

The AIBA Executive Committee Bureau has approved the 10 new weight categories for men, due to the inclusion of Women’s Boxing in the next Olympic Games. The newly adopted weight categories will apply to all AIBA events from
September 1, 2010.

The numbers of boxers listed below refers to the number who will participate at each weight category in the London Olympic Games 2012. Last month, the IOC Executive Board unanimously agreed to the inclusion of 36 women in the 2012 Olympic boxing competition, 12 each at flyweight (48-51kg), lightweight (56-60kg) and middleweight (69-75kg).

New AIBA Men’s Weight Categories

1. 46 to 49kg Light-Flyweight 26 boxers
2. Up to 52kg Flyweight 26 boxers
3. Up to 56kg Bantamweight 28 boxers
4. Up to 60kg Lightweight 28 boxers
5. Up to 64kg Light-Welterweight 28 boxers
6. Up to 69kg Welterweight 28 boxers
7. Up to 75kg Middleweight 28 boxers
8. Up to 81kg Light-Heavyweight 26 boxers
9. Up to 91kg Heavyweight 16 boxers
10.  +91kg Super-Heavyweight 16 boxers
TOTAL (for 2012 Olympic Games): 250 boxers